Swerte ko Bai!

April 28, 2013
Dumaguete City
Swerte ko bai!

I’m the luckiest person in the world.
I go to places. Discover beautiful, breathtaking sites. Meet new people, friends. Partake some native delicacies famous to the places I go. On this case, its the sansrival of this coastal city deep down Negros Oriental.
And all this I experience because I’m a sportswriter.
The best job in the world.
For 17 years I’ve been doing this. I get to rub elbows and trade jokes with Yeng Guiao and Alfrancis Chua with some invectives-throwing on the side, shoot hoops with a Mark Barroca, a Dylan Ababou, a Marcio Lassiter and if I get lucky, Chris Tiu.
I also get free ringside tickets to basketball games like the PBA ala Jack Nicholson at the Staples Center for the Lakers. I get to talk in person to the likes of UFC demigods Georges St.-Pierre and BJ Penn and Chuck Liddell. Talked and came a whisper away from guess who? Kobe Bryant, Kevin Durant, Derrick Rose, Chris Paul and James Harden when they played a couple of games in Manila a couple of years back.
That is because I’m a sportswriter.
Yes, its tiring and exahusting some times and mentally draining at most.
Like this one exactly a week ago when I had to travel the whole day for more than 15 hours starting from Boracay where I covered the Nestea Beach Volleyball event to Caticlan (45 minutes by tricycle and boat) to Iloilo (six hours by an ultra-cramped van) to Bacolod (two hours via fast craft), and finally, Dumaguete (six hours by air-condition-less bus) where the Palarong Pambansa, a weeklong multi-sports meet for elementary and high school students, awaits me.
Yes, we get to miss some special family occassions like birthdays, anniversaries, mothers and fathers days, simple gatherings. On this occassion, I was miles, mountains and seas away when our family got together to remember the death anniversary of my little brother, Jerson. God, I miss Iton!
But hey, I’m not complaining.
Because the best part of it is when I start to pack my things, go the airport and fly back home and straight into the sweet, soft loving arms of my beautiful, pregnant wife @tellytabachoy.
Truly, I’m the luckiest person in the world.

Sportsmaryosep postscript: Will get to write things about sports soon. Please watch out for it. Guess what I’ll write next? The NBA playoffs!…Happy four months to my brave, gallant wifey, who stayed strong when papsi was away.
Follow  Sportsmaryosep on Twitter: @JoeySVillar

2 thoughts on “Swerte ko Bai!

Leave a Reply

