Denise Tan Speaks

MOA Arena
May 16, 2013
Denise Tan Speaks

As I was packing my bag after a hard day’s work covering the Shakey’s V-League, I took a final peak at my Twitter. And lo and behold, I saw these tweets by Denise Tan at @_denisetan. Before we go peruse Denise’s messages, let’s first take a look at who Denise Tan is.
Tan, for the uninitiated, is a former setter of the Santo Tomas’ women’s volleyball team before she injured a shoulder that forced her to stop playing. At least that’s what her Facebook account say. And oh, she has 12k plus likes on Facebook and about 10,000 followers on Twitter. That’s how popular she is, to say the least.
So let’s go back to her Twitter.
“No relation to UST losing and all, but I think the rule that allows the teams to trade guest players, is just total bs.”
Denise twitted this right after Ateneo overpowered Santo Tomas, her alma mater, 25-13, 23-25, 25-23, 25-13. She was referring to the rule that allows teams to trade players before the Final Four. In this case, she was specifically referring to Thai spiker Jaroensri Bualee getting shipped to Ateneo from San Sebastain just before the Final Four unfolded. About the bs, please refer to BullsHeat game and you’ll know.
Here’s her other tweets:
“If Ateneo wins the championship though, I’d be really happy for Jang Bualee!”
“To be perfectly honest, I dont remember if UST did the same thing before.Regardless if they did, it still doesnt change my opinion about it.”
“It’s unfair that people are saying that it’s a desperate move for ADMU. All I’M saying is that I really think it’s a stupid rule. That’s it!”
“I just found out about it. If I was bitter, I wouldn’t congratulate Ateneo. #commonsense”
And then she got a hailstorm of responses, homicidal or otherwise.
Here’s her answer to her critic:
“People, relax! Based on the tweets and score, it seems like ADMU won in a convincing manner today. I’m not trying to make excuses for UST.”
“…If I wanted to do that, I’d be talking about a whole lot of other stuff aside from the trade. Relax lang! Ang init ng ulo niyo e! Smile:D”
“Last na to, ang hina umintindi ng iba. Nag-trade ADMU at PATI NA RIN ANG UST. Ang point ko lang, nasasagwaan ako sa rule na yun. Gets mo na?”
So we go to the question: What’s wrong with Denise Tan’s comments at Twitter?
I say she has the right to speak up her mind. This is a democratic country after all. We voted Nancy Binay to Senate and placed No. 5 at that. And she won it without even opening her mouth in a debate. That’s more criminal than what Tan spoke of. Aren’t it?
The next question: Is the rule trading guest players fair?
I say it is. I’ve heard everyone had been given a chance to make a move. And besides, it’s being practiced in other leagues like the PBA no matter how outrageous it is. Bottomline, everyone is fair game. Even Bualee.
Follow Sportsmaryosep on Twitter: @JoeySVillar

Image

One thought on “Denise Tan Speaks

Leave a Reply

